Goerdies to damn good.

Goerdies to damn good.

Postby scotty 2 tees » Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:25 am

Does anyone know the tuning for love like blood,could anyone put a video on web site to show me what Goerdie is doing,he just baffles me,i cant even learn the song and ive been playing for 30 years.God that sounds sad dunnit.I can do the basic version but cant get close to the real thing.There has to be someone who knows the bits,surely.Im trying to introduce this track to my covers band,but sadly we struggle like morons.Killing Joke are the best I know.Cheers.
scotty 2 tees

Re: Goerdies to damn good.

Postby billynoband » Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:59 am

You need to ask Anthony on here, if you visit his myspace (Anthony Killing Joke Tabs) there are Geordie guitar tabs and links. He will chip in on here I am sure.\
Most of Geordies stuff (apart from the first album) sounds best played with all your strings tuned down a whole step DGCFAD. \
I use a multi effects box with AC30 sound, delay and a bit of chorus and my clumsy bass players fingers are away, it does'nt sound too bad, a bit like Geordie if he had broken his fingers.
All the best gig's have no support band and finish early. Time for bed Flowrence said Dougal.
billynoband

Postby anthony » Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:02 am

Billiynoband is right, you got to detune the whole guitar down a tone, so it goes DGCFAD instead of EADGBE... You can play the song with DROPPED D tunning (DADGBE), but if you really want to sound closer to Geordie, use his tunning, he often lets ring some "open strings", and i think it is totally part of his unique sound... You should also add a bit of chorus effect, as well as delay (approx 250ms, a bit of feedback, and the volume at 50/100), it gives another "dimension" to the sound...\
Here is the link of my Myspace page with a few tabs, i've just up-dated most of the Night Time album guitar tabs, you will also find Love like Blood there, the closer way to play this beautiful track i found... \